学生在学业结束后留在新西兰

国际留学生在学业结束后需要取得一种签证才能够留在新西兰工作。

在学业结束后打算在新西兰留下并工作的国际留学生需要持有合适的工作签证。

新西兰的移民政策包括一种为取得新西兰学历的毕业生设计的工作途径,使他们能够获得与学业直接相关的工作经验。

取决于所学专业,留学生可能有机会留在新西兰并工作最多四年,并有可能获得永久居留权。

首先,毕业生需要申请签证并获得批准。其工作途径有两个步骤:

.          毕业生工作签证(开放)。这种签证将给毕业生最多12个月的时间,令其寻找一份与所学专业相关的工作。在寻找这一与学业相关的工作的期间,签证持有人可从事任何工作以便能够谋生。

.          毕业生工作签证(雇主协助)。这种签证使毕业生能够进一步在新西兰工作两年(或是三年,取决于职业注册要求),以便获得与学业相关的工作经验。这种签证与具体雇主提供的具体工作相关。

在毕业生持毕业生工作签证(雇主协助)工作几年后,可能已有足够的新西兰工作经验来申请新西兰居民签证。如果其工作属于技术短缺职业,这将令他们有更大的机会以工作签证或是居民签证的方式留在新西兰。

无论毕业生申请何种签证,都需要满足新西兰移民局的健康品格要求。

Students staying after study

International students will need a visa to stay to work after their studies are completed.

To stay on in New Zealand and work after they have finished their studies, international students need the appropriate work visa.

New Zealand’s immigration policies include a graduate work pathway for international students who have achieved a New Zealand qualification, to enable them to gain work experience in a field directly related to the studies they have completed.

Depending on their area of study, they may have the opportunity to stay and work in New Zealand for up to four years, and possibly even gain residence.

First, however, they will need to apply for a visa and have it approved. The graduate pathway has two steps:

  1. Post-study work visa (open). This visa gives recent graduates up to 12 months to get a job in a field related to their studies. While they are looking for a job they are allowed to work in any job to support themselves.
  2. Post-study work visa (employer assisted). This visa lets graduate students stay in New Zealand to gain work experience in their field of study for a further two years (or three years if work experience is required as part of a professional registration). This visa relates to a specific job with a specific employer.

After working on a post-study work visa (employer assisted) a number of years, graduates may have sufficient New Zealand work experience to apply for a New Zealand residence visa. If their work is in an occupation that has skill shortages, then this improves their chances of being allowed to stay, either with work visas or residence.

Whatever visa an international student applies for, they will need to meet Immigration New Zealand’s health and character requirements.